Board of Trustees

Meet the Board

The ultimate authority of the Claflin University Board of Trustees is affirmed through its general, academic and financial policy-making functions and its responsibility for the financial health and welfare of the University. The Board of Trustees exercises ultimate institutional authority as set forth in its by-laws. Board policy statements take precedence over all institutional statements, documents and policies. The Board exercises corporate authority as prescribed by law.

Ms. Aparna Bawa

Chief Operating Officer, Zoom
City of Residence: San Jose, CA

Mr. Keith M. Clarke

Chair, Building and Grounds Committee
President/CEO MCA Architecture, Inc.
City of Residence: Greenville, SC

Mr. Ted Creech

Chair, Development Committee
Former Executive, AT&T
City of Residence: Columbia, SC

Rev. Dr. Robin Dease

Superintendent, Hartsville District
The United Methodist Church
City of Residence: 
Hartsville, SC

Mr. Calvin H. Elam

Vice Chair of the Board
Chair: Budget and Finance Committee
Elam Financial
City of Residence: Irmo, SC

Dr. Willie L. Frazier

(Ret.) Colonel, U.S. Army; Adjunct Professor
Chair, Student Affairs Committee
City of Residence: Augusta, GA

Artis Hampshire-Cowan, Esq.

Leverage Leadership Group, LLC
City of Residence: Mitchellville, MD

Mr. Moses L. Harvin

Chair, Governance Committee
President/CEO, American Services Technology, Inc.
City of Residence: Melbourne, FL

(Ret.) Lt. Col. John O. Herring

United States Army
City of Residence: College Park, GA

William H. Johnson, Esq.

Chair, Audit Committee
(Ret.) Senior General Attorney Norfolk Southern Corp.
City of Residence: Virginia Beach, VA

James K. Lehman, Esq.

Chair of the Board
Managing Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
City of Residence: Columbia, SC

Ms. Janice W. Marshall

Secretary of the Board
Executive Director, Clyburn Scholarship and Research Foundation
City of Residence: Blythewood, SC

Mr. Virgil R. Miller

President, Aflac Group Insurance; Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, Aflac U.S.
City of Residence: Columbia, SC

Ms. Hema Patel

Chief Executive Officer, Courtesy Management Inc.
City of Residence: Orangeburg, SC

Ms. Lessie Price

Manager of Government Affairs, URS Corporation
City of Residence: Aiken, SC

Mr. Robert Scarborough

(Ret.) Executive Director for South Carolina Association of School Administrators
City of Residence: West Columbia, SC

Rev. Dr. Albert Shuler

Senior Pastor, New Creation United Methodist Church, Durham, NC
City of Residence: Durham, NC

Ms. Joan Steward Stevens

Associate Secretary of the Board
(Ret.) Senior Executive Administrator, Social Security Administration
City of Residence: Bowie, MD 

William L. Thompson, Esq.

Treasurer of the Board
Chair, Budget and Finance Committee
President/CEO, Association of Graduates, U.S. Air Force
City of Residence: Marietta, GA

Mr. John Uprichard

President/CEO, Find Great People
City of Residence: Greenville, SC

Mr. Thomas W. Wyatt

President, Sage Valley Golf Club
City of Residence: Aiken, SC

Dr. Dwaun J. Warmack (Ex-Officio)

President, Claflin University

Section Navigation
Support the next generation of Claflin Leaders
Your support provides educational enrichment through student scholarships, loan funds, instructional classroom equipment, preparing Claflin's students to be leaders of the future.